1 MEETING MINUTES (AMENDED) 2 College of Chiropractors of British Columbia 81st Annual General Meeting 3 4 November 8, 2014 5 6 Delta Burnaby Hotel and Conference Centre 7 Burnaby, British Columbia 8 9 (FOR PRESENTATION AT THE 82<sup>ND</sup> AGM SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2015) 10 11 12 Dr. David Olson, Chair, called the 81st Annual General Meeting of the College of Chiropractors of British Columbia ("CCBC") to order at 1:34 p.m. Dr. David Olson welcomed the members. 13 14 He advised the membership that additional 2014 AGM agendas, financial reports, annual 15 reports, 2013 AGM minutes and sign in book were located at the conference room entrance. 16 17 Dr. David Olson introduced the members of the CCBC Board and appointed Mr. Don Lebans as 18 parliamentarian. 19 20 A moment of silence was observed for Dr. Pat Maxwell who passed away since the last AGM. 21 22 Motion 001/14-15: Moved by Dr. Stephen Maskall, to adopt the minutes of the 2013 AGM 23 minutes as circulated. 24 25 Motion 001/14-15: Carried 26 27 The Chair was passed to Dr. Shannon Patterson, Vice-Chair for receipt of the President's 28 report. 29 30 CHAIR'S REPORT - Dr. David Olson 31 32 Motion 002/14-15: Moved by Dr. Shannon Patterson, to receive the Chair's report as 33 presented. 34 35 Dr. David Olson acknowledged Dr. Doug Alderson who registered 50 years ago when there were only 100 chiropractors in BC. Dr. Alderson opened his North Vancouver practice in 1965. 36 37 As a College Board member he served as Registrar, chaired the Peer Review Committee, 38 conducted the first formalized review in conjunction with Medicare related to billings. Dr. 39 Alderson was involved in road trips, office inspections, the new HPA, CE, Quality Assurance 40 standards and received numerous awards. He is currently enjoying his retirement years. 41 42 He invited questions from the membership. 43 44 Motion 002/14-15: Carried 45 46 The Chair was passed back to Dr. David Olson 47 48 **REGISTRAR'S REPORT** – Diana MacKay 49 50 Motion 003/14-15: Moved by Dr. David Olson, to receive the Registrar's report as presented. 51 52 Ms. Diana MacKay commented on: 53

College Mandate/Mandatory Committees

54

Education in BC
HPRBC
Health Professions Act – 2009: Regulations, Bylaws

She advised that it is the members' responsibility to understand and abide by legislation and be familiar with the Professional Conduct Handbook.

At the 2008 AGM the membership voted to increase their dues by \$500.00 per year to support education in BC. The development team has requested funds from the College. After legal input, the decision was made to release limited funds on a phased basis to minimize risk.

Ms. MacKay welcomed the Deputy Registrar, Dr. Doug Wright who has increased support to the Board committees, staff and membership. She also thanked the Board, public members and departing Board members.

Ms. Diana MacKay invited questions from the membership.

Motion 003/14-15: Carried

## FINANCE & INVESTMENT COMMITTEE REPORT – Ms. Karen Kesteloo

<u>Motion 004/14-15:</u> Moved by Dr. Brian Luco, to adopt the draft Finance and Investment Committee report as presented.

Ms. Karen Kesteloo thanked Dr. Heidi Benda and Mr. Derek Hall for their assistance in the creation of the Financial & Investment Committee Charter. Highlights of the Financial report included:

The statements have been revamped to make them informative and user friendly.

• Total income has declined due to:

less fine income:

 increase of visa use resulting in higher service charge costs;

 legal costs have increased due to matters related to governance and education in BC.

 However Inquiry Committee costs have reduced, Board expenses are down, and electronic communication has reduced office costs.

Mr. Kesteloo invited questions from the membership.

Motion 004/14-15: Carried

## **INQUIRY COMMITTEE REPORT** – Dr. Robert Turner

<u>Motion 005/14-15:</u> Moved by Dr. Robert Turner, to receive the Inquiry Committee report as presented.

Dr. Robert Turner advised that communication is extremely important – tell the patient exactly what you are going to do and the reason behind it.

Motion 005/14-15: Carried

**DISCIPLINE COMMITTEE REPORT** – Mr. Derek Hall

109 110 111	<u>Motion 006/14-15:</u> Moved by Dr. Natalie Williams, to receive the Discipline Committee report as presented.
111 112 113	She invited questions from the membership.
114 115	Motion 006/14-15: Carried
116 117	REGISTRATION COMMITTEE REPORT - Dr. Richard Hawthorne
118 119 120	<u>Motion 007/14-15:</u> Moved by Dr. Richard Hawthorne, to receive the Registration Committee report as presented.
121 122 123	Dr. Richard Hawthorne thanked the Board and advised that their dedication has given him a new perspective of the Board.
124 125	He invited questions from the membership.
126 127	Motion 007/14-15: Carried
128 129	QUALITY ASSURANCE COMMITTEE REPORT - Dr. Rob Cormack
130 131 132	Motion 008/14-15: Moved by Dr. Rob Cormack, to receive the Quality Assurance Committee report as presented.
133 134 135	Dr. Rob Cormack advised that the committee is rewriting and restructuring the PCH and Standards of Guidelines.
136 137	He invited questions from the membership.
138 139	Motion 008/14-15: Carried
140 141	PATIENT RELATIONS COMMITTEE - Dr. Shannon Patterson
142 143 144	<u>Motion 09/14-15:</u> Moved by Dr. Shannon Patterson, to receive the Patient Relations Committee report as presented.
145 146 147	Dr. Shannon Patterson thanked the Board and advised that it had been a privilege to work on the Board for the membership.
148 149 150	She awarded Dr. Dean Greenwood with a cheque of \$1000.00 for his published article in the JCCA titled Congenital Scoliosis in Non-identical Twins.
151 152 153 154	Dr. Dean Greenwood thanked the Board and advised the membership to subscribe to chiropractic literature and contribute to the chiropractic research which will support the profession provincially and nationally.
155 156	Motion 009/14-15: Carried
157	NEW BUSINESS
158 159 160	New Motions were not received.
161 162	Dr. David Olson advised that Mr. Bob Bucher, Dr. Heidi Benda and Dr. Enrique Domingo were absent from the AGM. He acknowledged the new Island CCBC Board member, Dr. Chris

163 164	Anderson and mainland Board member, Dr. Don Nixdorf. The interior position has not been assigned.
165 166	Dr. David Olson advised that he was elected as Chair and Dr. Avtar Jassal as Vice-Chair.
167 168 169 170	Dr. David Olson thanked Dr. Richard Hawthorne and Dr. Shannon Patterson for their participation on the CCBC Board. He also thanked the administrative staff and committee members.
171 172 173 174	He announced that next year's AGM will be November 7, 2015 at the Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort in Victoria.
175 176	Motion 010/14-15: Moved by Dr. Brian Luco, to adjourn the 81st Annual General Meeting.
177 178	Motion 010/14-15: Carried
179 180	Meeting adjourned at 2:37 p.m. Saturday, November 8, 2014
181 182	Delta Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort