/About the College of Chiropractors of BC
About the College of Chiropractors of BC 2018-02-19T16:18:50-07:00

About the College of Chiropractors of BC

The College of Chiropractors of British Columbia is the regulatory body established by the provincial government, (1934), for the registration and regulation for chiropractic doctors in BC. Every doctor of chiropractic practicing in BC must be a registered member of the College.  The College of Chiropractors of BC is part of BC’s Health Regulators.

The College of Chiropractors of British Columbia or CCBC is the regulatory body that licenses chiropractors in our province and sets standards of practice to protect the public.  In order to maintain a license to practice, all chiropractors must meet a strict set of guidelines including graduation from an accredited chiropractic college, criminal record check clearance and ongoing education requirements.  In addition all registered chiropractors are required to abide by the Health Professions Act (HPA) that was created by the BC Government and the CCBC by-laws and professional conduct handbook.  All regulated BC health professions must be licensed under a regulatory college.  These criteria mean that patients can rest assured that chiropractors are trusted, primary caregivers.  Patients also have recourse through the CCBC if they feel they were treated inappropriately under the care of a BC chiropractor.  The CCBC investigates and disciplines chiropractors that do not abide by the by-laws or legislation and takes patient concerns very seriously.

Mission Statement

The CCBC serves and protects the public and governs the delivery of chiropractic health care in BC by:

  • Ensuring the highest professional standards;
  • Advancing continued education and research; and
  • Promoting and enhancing collaborative relationships.


The Chiropractic profession was first legislated in BC 1934. Subsequent BC legislation including Workers Compensation (WorkSafeBC), Medical Services Plan, ICBC and other government authorities reference health services from chiropractic doctors. The Chiropractic board of the first statutory agency set standards for education, registration and practice for chiropractic doctors.

From 1934 to 2009 the BC government made periodic amendments to legislation in keeping with the administration of health services for British Columbians. In 1995 the College of Chiropractors began its participation with submissions and public hearing of the Health Professions Council as part of government’s review and reform of health legislation.

Effective March 01, 2009 the College of Chiropractors or BC (CCBC) transitioned from the original Chiropractors Act of 1934 to a College under the Health Professions Act. This process is intended to improve the regulatory role and responsibilities of the College and its provision of health services to British Columbians.

The College has more than 1000 doctors of chiropractic who practice throughout British Columbia. These doctors graduate from accredited schools which are primarily located in North America.